The Holy Trinity Monastery of Tzagarolon or Mourtaron is located on the peninsula of Akrotiri, near the airport of Chania, at the foot of the Stavros mountain range. It was named “Tzagarolon” by the Venetian founders Jeremiah and Lavrentio Tzagaroloi who were called to reconstruct an older little monastery that existed in the same place. Jeremiah began around 1611 to build a large complex, which would continue his brother Lavrentius after his death in 1634.
The complex of the monastery is quadrilateral, surrounded by a strong rectangular fortification. Inside it there is a paved courtyard, while the center of the church is dominated by the temple of the Holy Trinity, which belongs to the architectural type of the triangle with a dome and chapels on the ground floor and the first floor.